Skip to content

Main Navigation

 Learning Center Services

Get Connected With a Tutor

 SChedule a Tutoring AppointmenT 

Need help scheduling an appointment? Check out this tutorial!

You can also view a list of courses supported by the Learning Center or view the tutors' individual schedules and contact information.

By scheduling a tutoring appointment, you verify you have read and agree to our policies.

The Learning Center offers Supplemental Instruction (SI) for selected courses on campus. SI provides free organized study sessions which are open to any students in the course and are led by undergraduates who are selected and trained to be SI leaders.

The main goal of the SI program is to help students learn the course material and improve their course grade. In addition, we assist students in improving their study skills. We also provide students with an informal, personal, small group learning experience that helps them feel connected to other students and demonstrates the power of group study.

FALL 2020 COURSES:
Course Professor Leader

BIOL 2325-01, 14:
Human Anatomy

Mark Nielsen MarkNielsen@bioscience.utah.edu Brett Engar brett.engar@gmail.com
MATH 1220-01:
Calculus II
Donald Chacon-Taylor dct@math.utah.edu Kristen Lefort knlefort@gmail.com
MATH 1090-06: 
Business Algebra
Ryleigh Moore Ryleigh.Moore@utah.edu Jacob Jones jacobbenjaminjones@gmail.com
MATH 3210-01, 02, 03: 
Foundations of Analysis I
Gilber Moss gil.moss@gmail.com
Matt Cecil mcecil@math.utah.edu
Henryk Hecht hecht@math.utah.edu
PHIL 3200-01: 
Deductive Logic
Lex Newman Lex.Newman@utah.edu Robbie Hartzell rhartzell15@gmail.com
PSY 1010-02: 
General Psychology
Robert de Grey rob.kent@psych.utah.edu Ainsley Holmes ainsleyholmes1@gmail.com
PHYS 2010-01: 
General Physics I
Richard Ingebretsen richi47@comcast.net Philip Cullinane phillipcullinane4@gmail.com
PHYS 2010-11: 
General Physics I
Richard Ingebretsen richi47@comcast.net Sam Englert samenglert@gmail.com
CHEM 1130: 
Chemistry for Health Science
Thomas Richmond t.richmond@utah.edu Lexi Jolley lexijolley.xp@gmail.com

The Learning Center offers free one-on-one consultations to University of Utah students who want to improve their learning strategies. These consultations can range in topic of anything related to academic success including, but not limited to:

  • time management
  • study strategies
  • test-taking strategies
  • test anxiety
  • learning styles
  • critical thinking
  • note-taking strategies
  • and much more!

Schedule a Learning Consultation

Faculty, staff, student organizations, and many others can benefit from the services offered at the Learning Center. Our center will tailor workshops or presentations to fit your needs, subject to staff availability. Topics include:

  • Time Management
  • Study Skills
  • Test Taking Strategies
  • Learning Styles
  • Critical Thinking
  • Reading / Note Taking Skills

These can be one-time workshops that meet during your course periods or they can be regularly-occurring workshops as a supplement to your courses. Complete the form to request a presentation/workshop.

Students Helping Students Succeed

The Learning Center is partnering with Academic Affairs to offer CircleIn for a select number of courses for Fall 2020. Students enrolled in HIST 1700, MATH 1010, MATH 1050, and WRTG 1010 can collaborate with their peers and get help from Learning Center tutors through this app. Students who participate in learning activities on CircleIn will be awarded points that can be used to redeem giftcards!

CircleIn

Learn more about the Learning center!

Last Updated: 9/10/20